USG Election Results

I am happy to report that the University of Denver’s Undergraduate Student Government for 2010-2011 will be led by Jim Francescon and Felipe Diaz, as President and Vice President.  Everyone’s hard work paid off.

274 less people voted this year than last year.  While this may be partially attributed to the voting method (myWeb versus http://www.du.edu/voting), I believe it may also speak to interest and the type/level/competitiveness of campaigning.

Take a look at Jim and Felipe’s For Denver platform.  You will notice that a lot of it resembles what Javi and I had in our Ogaz-Portman: Unite. platform last year.  This is no coincidence.  Javi and I helped shape Jim and Felipe’s platform.  The fact that they were open to our ideas and suggestions is a major reason we supported them.  Hopefully, Jim and Felipe will be successful in fulfilling their platform.

I’m super excited that Stuart (my brother) will be a Senator (and hopefully Diversity Committee Chair)!  I am also excited that Dario, Javi’s brother is also on Senate.  Hopefully they can continue and improve upon our legacy of doing great things for the University of Denver together – and being friends.

Full election results are as follows:

President and Vice President – Jim Francescon and Felipe Diaz
AHUM Senator – Nicole Deutsch
DCB Senators – Vanessa Torres & Charlie Wondergem
HRTM Senators – Dario Ogaz
INTS Senator – Luke Nifaratos
NSM Senator – Stuart Portman
Performing Arts Senator – Jeanne Ireland
SECS Senator- Trevor Kroeger
SOCS Senator – Craig Hirokawa
Sophomore Senators – Sam White & Jordan Loyd
Junior Senators – Milan Chatterjee and Caitlin Lorenz
Senior Senators – Kelly Walker & Mindy Stone
On-Campus Senators – Katherine Godshaw & Julia Godshaw
Off-Campus Senators – Katie Bernell & Carrie Gamper

Unfortunately, Vanessa Teck did not win Sophomore Senator.  This is truly a loss for DU.  While I am sure Sam and Jordan are great people, I did not like their seemingly behind the back campaigning techniques that ultimately lost Vanessa the seat.  I am sure she will be involved though and do great things for DU.

Dillon Doyle is a great person and while I did not support him for President, I like him a lot and I know he is going places in life.

An article about election results can be found on The Clarion‘s website.

I’ve downloaded the platforms for as many Senator elects as I could find online.  I hope they carry out what they promised and that their constituents hold them accountable for doing so.

Flash Mob @ Ohio State

The new “flash mob” trend is pretty awesome.  I really like the organized yet spontaneous nature of flash mobs.  While they confuse people, they seem to genuinely make people happy.

Earlier this week, The Ohio State University had a flash mob in their new student center.  It included the mascot and the university’s President.  How awesome!  Now DU is trying to organize something like this, perhaps for May Days.  Interested?  Let me know and I’ll put you in touch with the right people.