USG Election Results

I am happy to report that the University of Denver’s Undergraduate Student Government for 2010-2011 will be led by Jim Francescon and Felipe Diaz, as President and Vice President.  Everyone’s hard work paid off.

274 less people voted this year than last year.  While this may be partially attributed to the voting method (myWeb versus, I believe it may also speak to interest and the type/level/competitiveness of campaigning.

Take a look at Jim and Felipe’s For Denver platform.  You will notice that a lot of it resembles what Javi and I had in our Ogaz-Portman: Unite. platform last year.  This is no coincidence.  Javi and I helped shape Jim and Felipe’s platform.  The fact that they were open to our ideas and suggestions is a major reason we supported them.  Hopefully, Jim and Felipe will be successful in fulfilling their platform.

I’m super excited that Stuart (my brother) will be a Senator (and hopefully Diversity Committee Chair)!  I am also excited that Dario, Javi’s brother is also on Senate.  Hopefully they can continue and improve upon our legacy of doing great things for the University of Denver together – and being friends.

Full election results are as follows:

President and Vice President – Jim Francescon and Felipe Diaz
AHUM Senator – Nicole Deutsch
DCB Senators – Vanessa Torres & Charlie Wondergem
HRTM Senators – Dario Ogaz
INTS Senator – Luke Nifaratos
NSM Senator – Stuart Portman
Performing Arts Senator – Jeanne Ireland
SECS Senator- Trevor Kroeger
SOCS Senator – Craig Hirokawa
Sophomore Senators – Sam White & Jordan Loyd
Junior Senators – Milan Chatterjee and Caitlin Lorenz
Senior Senators – Kelly Walker & Mindy Stone
On-Campus Senators – Katherine Godshaw & Julia Godshaw
Off-Campus Senators – Katie Bernell & Carrie Gamper

Unfortunately, Vanessa Teck did not win Sophomore Senator.  This is truly a loss for DU.  While I am sure Sam and Jordan are great people, I did not like their seemingly behind the back campaigning techniques that ultimately lost Vanessa the seat.  I am sure she will be involved though and do great things for DU.

Dillon Doyle is a great person and while I did not support him for President, I like him a lot and I know he is going places in life.

An article about election results can be found on The Clarion‘s website.

I’ve downloaded the platforms for as many Senator elects as I could find online.  I hope they carry out what they promised and that their constituents hold them accountable for doing so.

DU USG Elections – Endorsement of “FOR DENVER” Ticket

DISCLAIMER: The letter below was submitted to The Clarion for publication as a letter to the editor for the 05/04/2010 publication. The Clarion refused to print the article even though they seek out student opinions and voices.  We believe that it is important that you see this message.


University of Denver Students,

Last year we ran together for AUSA President & Vice President.  While we did not win, we have both kept our promises to maintain our involvement, push for change, and make the University of Denver a better place.  We also said that we would hold our election opponents responsible for carrying out their platform.

Antoine Perretta and Jim Francescon have worked hard this year to meet the goals they promised to all of us.  We are happy to say that we believe in their successes.  All of us have worked together throughout the year.  Several months ago, we began discussing this year’s USG (the name was changed this year) elections.  We wholeheartedly support and endorse Jim Francescon and Felipe Diaz for USG President and Vice President.

Over the past several months, we have worked with Jim and Felipe as they developed their platform.  All of us have the same overarching goal: to unite and connect our campus.  We know that Jim and Felipe will be successful in this endeavor.  Even their For Denver ticket shows representation from almost every dimension of our campus community.

Jim and Felipe are proven leaders who have the experience, dedication, and connections necessary to fulfill their platform.  They will succeed in creating the lasting campus improvements we need.

Some of our past supporters may not agree with our decision to support the For Denver ticket.  We encourage you to contact us.  Let’s talk about why we believe Jim and Felipe are the high quality leaders DU needs and deserves.

Whether or not you support Jim and Felipe, vote.  The University of Denver exists for the students.  Have your voices heard and shape DU to be the institution you want it to be.


Joel Portman and Javier Ogaz


Voting Instructions:

Please follow these steps to vote:

1. Log into MyWeb –
2. Click on surveys
3. Click on “Senate Elections”
(be sure to click “next question” to vote for all eligible candidates)

If you have problems, email with your votes.

For more information about the FOR DENVER ticket, visit


Specific People I Endorse:

Jim Francescon and Felipe Diaz  – USG President and Vice President – link
Stuart Portman – NSM Senator – link
Dario Ogaz – HRTM Senator – link
Vanessa Teck – Sophomore Senator – link
Dorielle Parker – JKSIS Senator – link
Julia Godshaw – On-Campus Senator – link
Ericca McCutcheon – On-Campus Senator – link
Craig Hirokawa – SOCS Senator – link
Jeremy Lynch – DCB Senator – link