Behind On My Posts

I need to go to bed, but (partially as a reminder to myself) I still need to post about quite a few things from my internship at Build-A-Bear Workshop this summer that I am behind on:

  • My internship presentation to the Chiefs and Managing Directors
  • Meeting with Maxine Clark, Chief Executive Bear
  • Preparations for tomorrow’s Quarterly BearQuarters Meeting
  • Tomorrow’s Quarterly BearQuarters meeting
  • My recent projects

It’s amazing that I am almost halfway done with my last week of the internship!  I have no idea where the summer has gone.  It has certainly been great.

You’ve Got A Friend In Me

I am lucky to have great friends.  This song came across my computer today and I thought it was a good reminder for all of us that we should value those important to us.

You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
When the road looks rough ahead
And you’re miles and miles
From your nice warm bed
Just remember what your old pal said
Boy, you’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got troubles, well I’ve got ’em too
There isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for you
We stick together and we see it through
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me

Some other folks might be
A little bit smarter than I am
Bigger and stronger too
Maybe
But none of them will ever love you the way I do
It’s me and you
And as the years go by
Boys, our friendship will never die
You’re gonna see
It’s our destiny
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me

By Randy Newman

Stress

Stress seems to be never ending.  If this is the way life is now, I can only imagine what the rest of my life holds… Nevertheless, I find that I function well in high stress situations.  Proper stress management is imperative in this effort.

I got an email today about stress and find its advice quite true.  I thought I would share:

A lecturer, when explaining stress management to an audience,
Raised a glass of water and asked;
‘How heavy is this glass of water?’

Answerscalled out ranged from 20g to 500g.

The lecturer replied, ‘The absolute weight doesn’t matter.
It depends on how long you try to hold it.
If I hold it for a minute, that’s not a problem.
If I hold it for an hour, I’ll have an ache in my right arm.
If I hold it for a day, you’ll have to call an ambulance.
In each case, it’s the same weight, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it
becomes.’

He continued,
‘And that’s the way it is with stress management..
If we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later,
As the burden becomes increasingly heavy,
We won’t be able to carry on. ‘

‘As with the glass of water,
You have to put it down for a while and rest before holding it again.
When we’re refreshed, we can carry on with the burden.’
‘So, before you return home tonight, put the burden of work down. Don’t carry it
home. You can pick it up tomorrow.

Whatever burdens you’re carrying now,
Let them down for a moment if you can..’
So, my friend, Put down anything that may be a burden to you right now. Don’t
pick it up again until after you’ve rested a while.

Here are some great ways of dealing with the burdens of life:

* Accept that some days you’re the pigeon,
And some days you’re the statue.

* Always keep your words soft and sweet,
Just in case you have to eat them.

* Always wear stuff that will make you look good
If you die in the middle of it.

* Drive carefully. It’s not only cars that can be
“Recalled” by their maker.

* If you lend someone $20 and never see that person again,
It was probably worth it.

* It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to be kind to others.

* Never put both feet in your mouth at the same time,
Because then you won’t have a leg to stand on.

* Nobody cares if you can’t dance well.
Just get up and dance.

* When everything’s coming your way,
You’re in the wrong lane.

* You may be only one person in the world,
But you may also be the world to one person.

* We could learn a lot from crayons… Some are sharp, some are pretty and some
are dull. Some have weird names, and all are different colors, but they all have
to live in the same box.

*A truly happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery
On a detour.