More Discrimination Protection in Missouri State Goverment

The following is an article by Virginia Young from STLtoday.com:

JEFFERSON CITY — A group representing gays and lesbians is celebrating a declaration by Gov. Jay Nixon that says state government shouldn’t discriminate against its employees based on their sexual orientation.

Though the statement has no force of law, it establishes a clear policy for the executive branch and is a “major stepping stone to achieving a statewide” anti-discrimination law, said A.J. Bockelman, executive director of the gay rights group known as PROMO.

Nixon buried the nugget of news in an executive order he issued earlier this month at a convention of the NAACP.

State law already bars employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, national origin, sex, ancestry, age, and disability. Nixon’s order added sexual orientation and veteran status to the list of protected categories for state workers.

The order called for the state to treat its employees equally in regard to hiring, recruiting, training, benefits, promotions, transfers, layoffs, demotions, terminations, rate of compensation, and recalls from layoffs.

Equal treatment also should apply in the way state services and facilities operate, the order says.

Scott Holste, a spokesman for Nixon, said the move “was not aimed at any particular group. It sends a message that Missouri will not discriminate in any of these categories.”

Nixon hasn’t always drawn praise from gays and lesbians. Some were irked in 2008 when, as Missouri’s attorney general, he urged delay of a California court ruling allowing same-sex marriages.

Masada 2003

Tonight I heard the song Farmhouse by Phish for the first time in who knows how long.  That songs reminds me of my last summer at Camp Sabra as a part of the Masada Unit in 2003.  We were a fantastic group of people and I still think of many of them often.  I wish I was more in touch with many of those friends who I have not seen or spoken to in years.  Nevertheless, I know that because of our experiences together, we will still be good friends the next time we meet.

Here is the song we wrote to commemorate our summer as Masada 2003:

The Masada 2003 Song

(Songs in succession: Farmhouse by Phish, If I Had a Million Dollars by Barenaked Ladies, & Surrounding Me by Jeff Kanterman)

Welcome this is Masada
We have bugs and flies alas
And our final year has passed
We are so very sorry
There is plenty we can do
But we’re lazy
We didn’t stay in Colorado enough
The 2 weeks got kind of tough
But when it was time to go
We all wanted to just say no

CHORUS: (x2)
Never ever seen a mountain so high
Never ever seen the time fly by
(so fast)
Never ever seen the stars so bright
In Colorado things will be alright

Every night the lightening did flash
We watched our fires burn down to ash
On each trail we had to trust
Or we’d get left in the dust

CHORUS (x2)

If I had a million dollars
“ ”
I would buy a time machine
“ ”
(And) If I had a million dollars
“ ”
I’d go back to the 90’s
And spend more time with you & me
If I had a million dollars
“ ”
I’d buy you a bus
But not a working bus, that’s cruel
If I had a million dollars
I’d buy more time…

CHORUS (x2)

Lookin about the years
Thinkin of me & you
Wipin away the tears
Always remember you
Masada’s in our hearts
Never want to part
Ooh the magic of Camp Sabra…

Jeff was one of our counselors at Camp Sabra who wrote his own songs.  He is actually pretty good.  Here is a music video for one of his other songs:

My five years at Camp Sabra were fantastic.  It’s a beautiful camp on the Lake of the Ozarks.  I’d like to go back.

Masada 2003 on the steps of the dining hall porch at Camp Sabra

Camp Sabra has its own blog here.