My First Business Trip

I’m writing this post while on the plane back to St. Louis to be posted once I get home.  I am wrapping up my first business trip for my new job with Centene Corporation.  It seems that I will be doing a lot of travel in my position so this is the first of many more trips to come.

What all I, specifically, am responsible for still seems to be in flux.  On this trip, I met the guy who is running development of the Louisiana network and shadowed two people who are managers in the trajectory I am on.  Both of them have 15-20 years of experience in healthcare.  We drove around and met with doctors and office managers at clinics and private practices.  We actually had pretty good results.  I like all of the people in Louisiana with whom I will be working.

I still have a lot of details to learn if I am doing what they are doing.  For now, I am focusing more on learning the contracting/negotiating role and serving more of a support function.  Right now that means developing tracking and reporting tools.  I should have a better ability to do that now that I know what it looks like in the field.  I will likely be traveling again next week and working out of the Baton Rouge office.  I was told that it’s easier to ramp up and ramp up faster if I am in the field.  It will be my second week traveling Monday-Thursday and I think that type of travel could be happening weekly.

I did get to explore New Orleans a little bit.  I’m hoping to be back there (I’m sure there is more going on in New Orleans than Baton Rouge).  I walked/ate on Bourbon Street, went by Jackson Square, walked along the Mississippi River, and ate at Red Fish, Pat O’Brien’s, and Café Du Monde.  I did hear some great musicians, but next time, I’d like to check out more live music.

Travel Preferences

I still need to figure out things like which airline and hotel chain I want to focus on.

On this trip, I flew Southwest, which was great, and stayed at the Marriott New Orleans.  The location of the hotel was great, but I wasn’t impressed by my room.

For the future, I’m leaning towards Hilton hotels.  I’m between Southwest, which only flies to New Orleans (I’d have to drive from there), but has a direct flight from St. Louis, Delta and American.  Both Delta and American fly to New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and other airports in Louisiana, but there are no direct flights and it takes longer to earn free tickets.  I will mostly be renting cars from National.  Centene lets me sign up for the Emerald Club.

Anyone have any recommendations on flights – quality of the airline and best rewards program?

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

3 Responses to My First Business Trip

  1. Vickie Hankammer says:

    Good to hear how the new job is going. You seem to be doing your thing with accessing quickly and clearly already! As always I am so impressed!

    Café Du Monde is historic and oh so tasty! Glad to hear you made that visit.

    Delta would be my vote when it comes to airlines. Haven’t been a big fan of American in the past but flew them again this summer after not using them for awhile and they seem to be making more of an effort towards customer satisfaction than they did in the past. I’ll reserve my opinion for now.

    There is a great hotel in New Orleans, Windsor Court Hotel (quite, quite pricey) that I stayed at years ago but really is quite spectacular. Not for regular stays but you may want to treat yourself for a single night or so, just to say you have been there!

    Glad you are having fun with friends when you’re back home and out exploring your home town.
    All your single mindedness and focus the past 5 years has paid off and you can relax and have some fun now!

    Congratulations on the new phase!

    Cheers………Vickie

  2. Becky Rougon says:

    I read your post and enjoyed it. I just applied online with Centene Corp. I am hoping to hear back from them soon. Can you tell me more about the company?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

