Reflections on Graduation Cards

Tomorrow will be four weeks since graduation!  Wow, I don’t even know where they have gone.  I had been so worried that there would be nothing to do at home and I was certainly wrong.  It is strange – I don’t think it has entirely hit me that I will not be back at the University of Denver in the fall.  Nevertheless, I am working on those next steps in life.

I have gone through graduation cards and whatnot and was reflecting that some contain some really meaningful messages.  I want to share just a sampling of the thoughts and wisdom these cards are imparting on me.

Of course, this means that I did not write these things, and for some I really have no idea who did.  Nevertheless, thank you and the credit belongs to you.

What is Success?

Setting goals, but not in concrete.
Staying focused, but turning aside to help someone.
Following a plan, but remaining flexible.
Moving ahead, but not too fast to smell the flowers.
Taking a bow, but applauding those who had a part in your success.

Always stay true to your calling, and you’ll make the world a better place… changing lives as you go, showing what it means to live with devotion, integrity, and passion.

“What sunshine is to flowers, smiles are to humanity.”
– Joseph Addison

“Dream no small dreams for they have no power to move the hearts of men.”
– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

Leave a Reply

