Either Way

I used to write poems.  I have not, however, been all that into poetry in a few years, but I think it is a good way to express myself.  Perhaps, the meaning through complexity allows me to express myself without explicit commitment to the words I write?  Maybe I like the ambiguousness?  Maybe there is potential for the future?

Regardless, I’ve written my first poem in a long time.  I hope you like it.

Either Way.

Coming home.
Upon the ground there are red roses, lying on white.
As I walk through them, I approach the darkness.
Strong.  Blue.  Black.
Can’t hear, but I see smiles.
Whose smiles?
Movement.  Feel it.
Can’t do it.
Who is this?  I didn’t know, but now I am sure.
From where? Leaning.
But is it sturdy?  What happens if it is not?
I do not know.
Tell me.  I wish I knew.
Clarity.
Why risk it?  Why invest?
Maybe it is worth it.  Maybe it is not.
Lying.  Future.  Possibility.
Smashed!
La la la.
Why not?
Okay.
I want to see the options…
Where are they going?
I wish I knew.

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

One Response to Either Way

  1. I like it Joel, you are right about one there are a lot of possibilities in the future, keep your head up 🙂

Leave a Reply

