Snow Closure

It is really cold in Denver right now.  It is 6 degrees Fahrenheit.  I’m not a fan.  The low today is -4.  Tomorrow, the high is -1 and the low is -15.  Seriously.  The low is not a positive number.  That just does not seem right.  The wind chill is supposed to be -20 to -30, which I do not even know how to fathom.

I’ve been expressing my desire for a snow day for tomorrow since this morning when I realized how cold it would be.  It is also snowing, but the amount of snow itself would not qualify the University of Denver for a snow day (although that would not necessarily be the case if I were home in St. Louis).  Nevertheless, with the extremely cold temperatures I figured it could happen.  Everyone told me that there was no way school would be canceled – but it was!  I was extremely surprised though that DU was closed early today.  Tomorrow is less surprising.  Nevertheless, there is more time to relax and (hopefully) get work done.

Earlier today, I checked snow closures online and saw that the Greeley Moose Lodge was closed for bingo tonight.  I figured we may have a shot.  No one wants bingo canceled without good reasoning.  This resulted in my current Facebook status of “Greeley Moose Lodge is closed for bingo tonight. It is thus appropriate that DU is closed. No bingo, no school. That’s always been my philosophy.”

 

This is a message from the University Of Denver Department Of Campus Safety. Due to hweather, the University will be closed the rest of today, 01/31/11 and all day and evening on 2/1/11. Please check the University of Denver website at www.du.edu for updated information.


To listen to the above message, you will need audio software and speakers on your computer.

 

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

Leave a Reply

