Leading at the Edge Weekend

As is evident by the lateness of this post, I have been extremely behind on my blogging lately.  Midterms, class, work – everything has been extremely busy lately.  Nevertheless, I want to share a few thoughts on the Leading at the Edge weekend experience that I had with my business class October 8-10.

The weekend is held at The Nature Place.  It has an amazing location with fantastic facilities and amazing facilitators.  I highly recommend it.

We were told that our weekend would be great, amazing, etc, etc.  With so much build up, I became a little skeptical.  With all of the business master’s students forced to attend (or you fail your required class), how much fun could teamwork and critical thinking exercises be?

I ended up having an amazing time.  I truly got lucky with the team I ended up a part of.  There were twelve of us.  Five were from China, three were married, several had longer work experience, one was a newly minted lawyer, and ages ranged from 21-31.  It was a diverse and exciting group.  We bonded well and now spend time together in Denver outside of class.

We were in the mountains (about an hour West of Colorado Springs) at a beautiful time of year, with the Aspens changing colors.  We did high ropes course activities, low ropes course activities, orienteering (map and compass), climbing, repelling, leadership, ethics, and critical thinking challenges, and much more.

It was an amazing weekend that I would like to have the opportunity to do again.  I pushed myself and reflected in new ways about leadership as well as had the opportunity to help my teammates push themselves.

Below is a video slideshow of some of one of my teammate’s (Steven’s) pictures.  He is quite the photographer.

The Leading at the Edge weekend is loosely based on the experiences of the 10th Mountain Division in World War II.  The University of Denver’s news service wrote a story about the experience in 2007.

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

Leave a Reply

