Rosh HaShanah Greetings From MASA Israel to Conservative Leaders

The following message was sent out via email to leaders of the Conservative and Masorti Movement:

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

This year, thousands of young Jewish adults will begin a personal journey in Israel by celebrating the High Holidays with peers from around the world. As participants of Masa Israel Journey’s more than 180 programs, they will immerse themselves in the unique atmosphere of the chagim in Israel, and create their own meaningful experience.

These young adults are tomorrow’s leaders, the ones who will determine the quality and character of Conservative Judaism in North America and its relationship with Israel for the next generation.

I wanted to share with you the stories of a few young members of the USCJ community whose Jewish lives have been enriched as a result of their semester or year in Israel.

This New Year, help us connect more young Jewish adults to Israel – through a Masa Israel Program, throughout Aliyah and more:

Joel Portman, St. Louis, MO

Synagogue: Brith Sholom Knesseth Israel, St. Louis, Mo

Masa Israel Program: Ben Gurion University of the Negev Year Program

In 2005, I traveled to Poland and Israel with United Synagogue Youth (USY).  The five weeks I spent in Israel were some of the best of my life.  But the experience I’d had wasn’t enough:  I wanted more, and I knew I would have to return. So, in 2008, I spent a semester studying at Masa Israel’s Ben Gurion University of the Negev. And I loved every minute of it. Read more >

Gabi Gordon, Chicago, IL

Synagogue: North Suburban Synagogue Beth El
Masa Israel Program: Nativ

Aliyah to Israel: August 2010

Having been raised in a Conservative home in Chicago, Judaism was always a part of my life.  I attended Solomon Schechter for elementary school and then got involved in USY.  While a Junior in high school, I took part in the Alexander Muss semester program in Israel.  It was then that I decided I needed to return for another extended period of time.  After graduation, I enrolled in Masa Israel’s Nativ.  Read more >

Shana Tova u’Metukah.

Naomi Freedman
Shlichat Aliyah, Jewish Agency for Israel
naomif@jafi.org

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

Leave a Reply

