The Happy Wanderer

So many camp songs seem to have been forgotten.  I’d love to help bring them back.  I think they bring the staff together, help improve morale, and increase dedication to the camp and to the experience.  Camp songs are also just plain fun.

I realize this past weekend at camp that many of my favorites seem to have been forgotten.  Brian Hackworth and I led one of my favorites (although, yes, I do have a lot of favorites) at dinner pass-out on Sunday night.  It’s called “The Happy Wanderer”:

I love to go a wandering
Along the mountain track
And as I go I love to sing
My knapsack on my back

Chorus:
Valderi, Valdera, Valderi
Vader-ha-ha-ha-ha
Valderi, Valdera,
My knapsack on my back

Chorus

I wave my hand to all I see
And they wave back to me (Hi there)
And the black birds call so loud and sweet
From every greenwood tree (With spirit)

Chorus

Oh may I go a wandering
Until the day I die (He’s dead)
And may I always laugh and sing
Beneath God’s clear blue skies (‘Till the end)
Beneath God’s clear blue skies

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

2 Responses to The Happy Wanderer

  1. Paul Winter says:

    I know that song (The Happy Wanderer) from when I was a scout, but I don’t think I have ever heard that middle verse. It is one of my favorites as well.

    I have been enjoying reading a few of your posts about life at S-F. I just got back from a week there on Saturday.

    Good luck after you graduate and join the ‘real world’!

    Paul W.
    Scoutmaster, Troop 98

    • Joel Portman says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you are enjoying my posts. I’ll look forward to bumping into you again before too long.

Leave a Reply

