Troop 307

My Boy Scout Troop, Troop 310, spent several summers at Camp Famous Eagle sharing a campsite with Troop 307, a troop from the Grand Towers District that comprises the city of St. Louis.  While I never camped with them, I often visited since they camped at the camp I was working at.  As I got older, I (unfortunately) became more disconnected with my troop, but always enjoyed how the Scouts from both troops got along and interacted.

Jim Powers, a leader from the New Horizons District, volunteered to be the Scoutmaster for Troop 307 each summer at camp.  He also played American and camp songs on Thursday evenings outside of the trading post.  He is the example of the ideal Scouter.  I also had the privilege of working with his son, Sean, at camp in 2004.  Mr. Powers is a great example for the new staff members who could probably stand to learn about giving of one’s self and helping others even when you may not see personal gain – and he could teach a lot more.

I recently came across this video online of Troop 307 at camp in 2008.  You can also see several members of Troop 310 in the video, including Mike McCarty, our Scoutmaster.

About Joel Portman
Network Builder. Diversity and Inclusion Advocate. Social Media Enthusiast. Lover of family, friends, the outdoors, travel, and learning. I have experience working in the healthcare, education, diversity/inclusion, retail, and non-profit industries with organizations ranging in size from five people to Fortune 500. I am an MBA graduate of the University of Denver.

Leave a Reply

